Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Email Format


Fulbright Schuman Award

What Are They?

The Fulbright-Schuman Awards are administered by the Fulbright Commission in Brussels and jointly financed by the U.S. Department of State and the Directorate-General for Education and Culture of the European Commission.

The Fulbright-Schuman Awards are monetary grants for EU:

  • students or professionals to conduct graduate and post-graduate study, research, and lecturing in the fields of U.S.-EU relations, EU policy, or EU institutions. Project proposals should focus on comparative perspectives on issues of common concern (either transatlantic or with reference to EU policy). Proposals may address topics such as internal and external security, peace-keeping, the EU and NATO, justice and home affairs, finance, trade, human rights, agricultural and environment policies, energy, asylum, human trafficking, development and EU enlargement. Grants are for a minimum of 2 months and a maximum period of 12 months.
  • professionals in international education administration for research in the field of international higher education administration that would be mutually beneficial to both institutions. Candidates are responsible for arranging their own placement and do not need to hold a PhD. Grants are for a minimum of 2 months and a maximum period of 4 months.

The Fulbright-Schuman Innovation Grants are also available, these grants are designed to support work that can create better transatlantic understanding of issues at the heart of the U.S.-EU relationship, particularly at the intersection of policy and technology. See more information here.

Awards comprise:

  • A monthly stipend (€3,000 per month for senior scholars and €2,000 per month for junior scholars)
  • A travel stipend
  • Health and accident insurance
  • Visa sponsorship

For more information see:

How To Apply?

Fulbright Schuman Applicants must:

  • Be citizens of the EU. Dual US/EU citizens are ineligible to apply
  • Have experience in at least two EU countries
  • Not be in the US at the time of application or be a current or retired official in a Community institution
  • Only apply to one Commission in a competition cycle (e.g. Ireland or Belgium)
  • Be available for a minimum of two months to a maximum of twelve months (average duration is four months) for the 2017-2018 academic year.

If you meet the above criteria, please visit for full details or email with any queries.

Please ensure that you inform the Irish Commission of your interest in the Schuman Awards as well as applying to the Belgian Commission directly. This way we can ensure that all applications from Ireland are processed efficiently.

What is the Deadline?

The application period for 2017-2018 opens on 15th September 2016, with a deadline of 1st December 2016.